Oscuro Animal

Oscuro Animal en la Competencia Oficial Hivos Tiger del Festival Internacional de Rotterdam 2016.

“We are pleased to announce the full line-up and jury of the Hivos Tiger Awards Competition. During IFFR 2016 eight films will compete for two different prizes. 

The following films have been selected to compete in this year s revamped Hivos Tiger Awards Competition:

  • The Land of the Enlightened – Pieter-Jan De Pue (Belgium, The Netherlands, Ireland, Germany, European première)
  • Motel Mist – Prabda Yoon (Thailand, world première)
  • Oscuro animal – Felipe Guerrero (Colombia, Argentinia, The Netherlands, Germany, Greece, world première)
  • Radio Dreams – Babak Jalali (USA,  world première)
  • La última tierra – Pablo Lamar (Paraguay, The Nederlands, Chile, Qatar, world première)
  • Where I Grow Old – Marília Rocha (Brazil, Portugal, world première)
  • A Woman, a Part – Elisabeth Subrin (USA, world première)
  • History s Future – Fiona Tan (The Netherlands, world première)

The Hivos Tiger Award is accompanied by a €40,000 cash prize, to be shared between the director and producer of the winning film. A Special Jury Award worth €10,000 will also be presented for an exceptional artistic achievement within the competition. Previously, some fifteen films competed for three equal prizes of €15,000.

Festival director Bero Beyer: “We want to offer the most innovative, original and challenging works on the biggest platform possible, as well as honouring and celebrating these in the best possible way. This was the reason we decided to find a new form for the Hivos Tiger Awards Competition. Not only is the prize money higher, but from the upcoming festival, every day a new Tiger will be put in the spotlight, with full attention for that film that day. All of the films selected are exceptional. We are honoured to have these fantastic films premièring at IFFR, so they can be discovered by a wide audience.”


The Hivos Tiger Awards are presented by an expert jury. In 2016, this jury will consist of Dutch film critic Peter van Bueren, Tunisian actress Hend Sabry, Thai filmmaker Anocha Suwichakornpong, award-winning Portuguese director Miguel Gomes and Hans Hurch, festival director of the International Film Festival Vienna. The winners of the Hivos Tiger Awards will be announced during the official awards ceremony on Friday, 5 February.”