Sebastián, an unemployed 30-year-old, ends up by chance working as a private driver. In his travels, he meets Muslim, a very unfriendly Muslim elder and of delicate health. Muslim needs to make an urgent trip and in exchange for a lot of money, he proposes to Sebas that his driver. Together they embark on a 4,000 km journey from Buenos Aires to the city of La Paz.


Francisco Varone

Francisco Varone was born in 1978 in Buenos Aires, he studied at Fundación Universidad del Cine. In 2000 he started his career in films as an assistant director and he participated in more than 10 films. Between 2005 and 2012 he directed over 100 commercials for which he received numerous awards among them three Lions in Cannes, the Clio Award and the Sol de Oro in San Sebastián. In 2008 he participated at Pablo Solarz scriptwriting workshops. He studied dramaturgy with Mauricio Kartún, Ignacio Apolo, and Ariel Barchilón. In 2010 he took scriptwriting classes with Juan José Campanella and Aída Bortnik. Francisco currently works as a scriptwriter for feature films.


2015. Camino a La Paz. (89′, Largometraje)



WITH Rodrigo de la Serna, Ernesto Suárez, Elisa Carricajo, María Canale, Juan Alari, Alicia Palmes
PRODUCED BY Gema Juárez Allen, Francisco Varone, Juan Taratuto, Dolores Llosas, Omar Jadur
EXECUTIVE PRODUCERS Gema Juárez Allen, Sebastian Perillo
IN COPRODUCTION WITH Concreto Films, Habbekrats, Hanfgarn & Ufer Filmproduktion, No Problem Cine
COPRODUCERS Julius Ponten, Philip Harthoorn, Gunter Hanfgarn
ASSOCIATE PRODUCERS Sake, Lucas Accardo, Emilio Pisanú
DOP Christian Cottet
EDITING Alberto Ponce (SAE), Federico Peretti
ART DIRECTOR Daniela Podcaminsky
SOUND DESIGN Manuel de Andrés
LINE PRODUCER Juan Pablo Colombo
DIRECT SOUND Pablo Bustamante
SUPPORTED BY Instituto de Cine y Artes Audiovisuales (Argentina), Netherland Film Fonds (Netherlands), Doha Film Institute (Qatar) , EZEF (Germany), Visions Sud Est


  • Busan IFF
  • Chicago IFF
  • Mostra de São Paulo
  • São Paulo IFF
  • Dominican Republic FF
  • Argentine FF in London
  • La Habana IFF
Thessaloniki International Film Festival (Award for best first feature film)
  • Palm Springs IFF
  • Tromsø IFF
Mar del Plata International Film Festival (Award for best actor)
  • Goteborg IFF
  • Portland IFF
  • Glasgow FF
  • Cartagena IFF
  • Guadalajara IFF
  • San Diego LatAm
  • Lucca FF
  • Panamá IFF
  • Minneapolis St. Paul IFF
  • Milwaukee LatAm
  • Wisconsin FF
  • Cinemás
  • Center for Latam and Caribbean Studies
  • Santiago IFF
  • Vancouver LatAm
  • Cine Vivo LatAm
  • Sydney LatAm
  • Calgary IFF
  • Denver CineLatino FF
  • Panoramica LatAm
  • KineNova IFFl
  • Days of Cinema FilmLab
  • Montevideo IFF
  • Latinamerika i Fokus
  • Pantalla Latina LatAm
  • Geneve Filmar LatAm (Best feature film)
  • Hip Trip Travel FF
  • Cine Foro de Guadalajara
  • Peliculatina/Bruxelles
  • Digital Gym Cinema San Diego
  • Greater Union Cinema – Australia
  • Puerto Madryn International Film Festival (Special Jury Award)

Nominated to best first feature film and best Patagonian actor at Premios Sur.